Ivy bees and a dipper by the river Ashburn

The river Ashburn in its stone-lined channel near the centre of Ashburton showing the large bank of ivy and to the right, North Road

As the river Ashburn approaches the centre of the south Devon town of Ashburton on its descent from Dartmoor, it runs along a stone-lined channel close to North Road giving the area a distinctly watery feel.    The rapidly running water attracts wildlife so I always stop to look.

Today, a long section of the wall on the road side of the stream is covered in ivy which at this time of year (late September) is in full flower.  Each flower head contains many small pale green hemispheres each topped with five yellow pollen-laden stamens.  The overall effect is to give the normally dark green bush a temporary pale green coat with a glistening yellow sheen.  The flowers are a rich late season source of pollen and nectar and give off a sickly-sweet odour perfuming the surrounding air, providing an irresistible lure for insects. 

There is a cool blustery wind but there have been hints of sunshine and I notice some wasps and honeybees feeding from the ivy along with one or two distinctively marked bees with bright yellow hoops around their abdomen (see picture above and below).  With their pale chestnut-haired thorax, these are ivy bees (Colletes hederae) our last solitary bee to emerge each year with a strong preference for feeding from ivy.  These are males as their back legs lack pollen collecting hairs.  They move about quickly from flower to flower and are very jumpy.  They are waiting for females to emerge and their enthusiasm sometimes bubbles over into misguided mating attempts between males.

I can’t help glancing at the running water and suddenly I notice a flash of white.  It’s rather far away so I use my camera zoom and find that this is a bird standing on a branch in the water.  Photos show its chocolate brown plumage and a prominent white bib, unmistakeably a dipper (Cinclus cinclus).  Dippers are elusive birds, at home by fast running water but always on the move and they get their name from the frequent bobbing movements they usually perform.  This one seems more interested in preening and stretching its wings but it does a little dip for good measure (see video below). 

I look back to check on the bees for a few moments but when I return to the dipper, it has already moved on.


Two male ivy bees on a head of ivy flowers
Two overexcited male ivy bees
A still photograph of the dipper

I visited Ashburton on September 27th 2023 and all the photos and the video were taken on that day,

10 thoughts on “Ivy bees and a dipper by the river Ashburn”

    1. Thanks for your comment, Caroline. I have seen dippers before flying along the Asburn near the town centre but this one stopped for several minutes and I was lucky enough to be there! My wife once saw a heron at about the same spot!

      Like

      1. That was lucky. We were in Amsterdam this summer, where the herons use the many waterways. But I have a photo, easy to take as the bird was large and stationery, of a heron sitting on top of a low roof just a few feet above street level, watching the busy market stalls. When it spotted some likely food, it flew down to the ground and wandered around like a herring gull here! Thanks for all your great photos and commentaries.

        Like

      2. That’s fascinating to hear about the herons behaving as scavengers in Amsterdam, I suppose they just adapt to the easy availability of food from markets near the water, I’ve always thought they were rather timid neat humans but obviously not!

        Like

  1. I don’t know this delightful bird, but I do know the excitement of being in the right place at the right time, and it’s always such joy when we have that private moment of recognition of a species we don’t see routinely.

    Over time you have introduced me to so many different bees, and this is a new one on me, too. Your photos are so good, Philip, and you’ve done an excellent job of describing your visit. 😀

    Like

    1. Thanks Debra, I was very lucky to see the bird and watch it while it sat on the branch. Dippers are one of my favourites so that added to the pleasure! There is an American species of dipper found in the mountainous regions of the western US. It was the favourite bird of the naturalist John Muir.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely photos of the bees and the video of the dipper. I have seen the dippers in the rivers in Scotland. They are rather special birds, once seen you cannot forget them, bit like the Ivy bees. Amelia

    Like

    1. Thanks Amelia. I agree that dippers are special birds, once seen not forgotten but I hadnt made the connection you suggested with ivy bees. You are right, though, there is also something special about ivy bees as well and for the few weeeks they are about I cant help looking!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment